Saturday, June 15

Alabama HC Kalen DeBoer’s Contract Includes $10.9 M Annual Salary, 4th-Highest in CFB

Erin WalshMarch 19, 2024

Brandon Sumrall/Getty Images

Alabama head coach Kalen DeBoer is formally among the highest-paid head coaches in all of college football.

The previous Washington Huskies head coach got an eight-year, $87 million agreement ($10.9 million annually) to take control of as head coach of the Crimson Tide following Nick Saban’s retirement, according to John Zenor of the Associated Press.

DeBoer will make $10 million in his very first year of the offer, which goes through Dec. 31, 2033. The agreement increases by $250,000 each year and will grow to $11.75 million by the last year of the offer.

The 49-year-old’s agreement likewise consists of a $600,000 bonus offer for playing in a College Football championship game video game and $875,000 for winning a title.

According to ESPN’s Chris Low, DeBoer’s agreement “is 90 percent ensured if he were to be fired without cause, and there is no mitigation.”

“High-level financial investment from top-level coaches is a vital part of the success that we’ve had in our department,” Alabama athletic director Greg Byrne informed trustees, per Zenor. “I feel highly that we continue to reveal that with the extra actions we’re taking today.”

DeBoer’s annual wage of $10.9 million ranks 4th amongst all CFB head coaches, according to Low. Clemson’s Dabo Swinney, Georgia’s Kirby Smart, USC’s Lincoln Riley and Texas’ Steve Sarkisian are likewise amongst the top-five.

DeBoer made $4.2 million as head coach of Washington last season. He led the Huskies to the championship game video game, where they was up to the Michigan Wolverines.

Alabama employed DeBoer in January, though regards to his offer were not reported at the time. The Crimson Tide paid Washington roughly $12 million to purchase out DeBoer’s agreement with the school, according to Ross Dellenger of Yahoo Sports.

Saban retired as head coach of the Crimson Tide on Jan. 10 after winning 6 nationwide titles in 17 seasons with the program.

» …
Find out more