Tuesday, June 25

‘Slow Burn: Becoming Justice Thomas’ Wins Podcast of the Year at The Ambies

“Slow Burn: Becoming Justice Thomas” took the honor for Podcast of the Year on Tuesday night at the 4th yearly The Ambies awards acknowledging quality in audio.

The awards were distributed in 27 classifications at an event held Tuesday night at downtown Los Angeles’ J.W. Marriott LA Live Los Angeles and live streamed on The Podcast Academy’s YouTube channel. The event was hosted by Trixie Mattel, Season 3 winner of “RuPaul’s Drag Race All Stars” Trixie Mattel.

“This is fantastic,” stated Joel Anderson, host of Slate’s newest season of its “Slow Burn” podcast. “Becoming Clarence Thomas” follows the Supreme Court justice’s life story and his journey from vibrant radical to conservative icon.

“Weight For It,” hosted by Ronald Young Jr., made one of the most wins, with 3 Ambies consisting of Best Indie Podcast, Best Indie Podcast Host/Hosts and Best Society and Culture Podcast.

“I can’t even lie– this feels great,” Young stated on his 3rd journey to the lecturn. “I’m so grateful to be here. I’m grateful to do what I enjoy primarily for a living.” Season 2 of “Weight For It,” in which Young checks out the nature of body image and other weight-related subjects, is bowing Aug. 15, Young fasted to point out.

Julia Louis-Dreyfus won for interview podcast for her “Wiser Than Me” series. The “Seinfeld” alum was not on hand however her manufacturer kept in mind that Season 2 bows March 27.

Finest company podcast honors went to Bloomberg’s “Spellcaster: The Fall of Sam Bankman-Fried.” Host and manufacturer Hannah Miller kept in mind that the crypto wunderkind is because of be sentenced on March 28. “We ‘d like to believe we played some little part in seeing justice get served,” Miller informed the crowd.

Troian Bellisario of “Pretty Little Liars” and Josh Close were the winners for scriptwriting in fiction for the drama “Advertisement Lucem” for QCODE Media.

Winners in other leading classifications consisted of Paul Scheer, June Diane Raphael and Jason Mantzoukas’ “How Did This Get Made?”(funny), “Ghost Story” (documentary) “50 Years of Hip Hop” (home entertainment) and “PREVIA: A Tech Heist” (fiction). The winner in the very best host or hosts classification was Martine Powers for “The Empty Grave of Comrade Bishop,” an investigative podcast from The Washington Post that checks out the missing out on remains of Grenada’s advanced leader, Maurice Bishop and 7 other individuals.

The event highlighted 192 candidates throughout 27 classifications with winners picked by every voting member of The Podcast Academy.

In Addition, Malcolm Gladwell was bestowed the Governors Award, which acknowledges a podcast or person for the engaging impact they’ve had on the market. Podcaster Ira Madison III got the Impact Award, which acknowledges a specific or podcast that has actually made a considerable, and favorable impact on its listeners.

See the complete list of winners listed below.

Podcast of The Year:
Slow Burn: Becoming Justice Thomas

Finest Business Podcast:
Spellcaster: The Fall of Sam Bankman-Fried

Finest Comedy Podcast:
How Did This Get Made?

ยป …
Find out more